17 Aug-31 Dec 2011. Walk under the pavements of the Place Royale and discover the remains of the Coudenberg palace - one of Charles V's main residences.
From the 12th century, successive monarchs transformed the small fortified castle into a magnificent residential palace. In 1731 it was severely damaged by fire and some 40 years later it was demolished to make way for Hoogstraeten House, home to today's Coudenberg Museum.
Visitors will discover the Rue Isabelle and the remains of palace buildings amongst the foundations of Hoogstraeten House, as well as artefacts from the many archaeological excavations conducted on the Coudenberg over the last 25 years.
View on Map
Coudenberg: former Palace of Brussels
Tues-Fri 10.00-17.00. Sat-Sun 10.00-18.00 Coudenberg, Ancien Palais de Bruxelles, Place des Palais 7, 1000 Brussels, tel. +32(0)70220492.