Covid-19: Ireland lifts quarantine for 15 countries including Italy

No quarantine required for visitors to Ireland from Italy but UK has been left off list.

Those who travel to the Republic of Ireland from 15 'safe travel' countries will not be required to undergo two weeks of self-isolation or restrict their movements, the Irish government has announced.

The countries on Ireland's so-called green list are: Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco and San Marino.

Ireland's nearest neighbour, the UK, has been excluded from this list however people crossing over the border into the Republic from Northern Ireland are not subject to restrictions on their movement.

The US has also been left off Ireland's green list although the country is open to visitors from America, who are subject to quarantine.

Ireland's general advice to avoid non-essential travel still applies to all other countries not on the green list which will be reviewed every two weeks.

Ireland has registered 25,802 covid-19 cases and the death toll is at 1,753, according to the latest figures released on 21 July.

For travel updates see Ireland's department of foreign affairs website.

Wanted in Europe
Wanted in Europe
Wanted in Europe, part of the Wanted Worldwide network, is a website in English for expatriates in Europe established in 2006. We cover Europe's news stories that may be of interest to English speaking residents along with tourists as well. Our publication also offers classifieds, photos, information on events, museums, churches, galleries, exhibits, fashion, food, and local travel.
Previous article Buy local Jersey products
Next article Female priests outnumber male priests in Sweden